PDA

View Full Version : Pc Suggestions

[SS]CJ
10-09-2003, 02:12 AM
My laptop took another crap on me. I told Fujitsu about it. The customer rep said that the engineers are looking into it. I guess a lot of laptops (same model as mine) are coming back to them. Their lab coat guys are stumped. What does this mean? Fujitsu is refunding my money. With that said, i've decided to build my own pc. I've never built one before, but everyone that I've talked to about it has said its pretty basic.

Here's the problem; I have not idea what to get. What kind of motherboard, CPU, case, etc. Chenzo was telling me about RAID O, 1, 2, etc. He said it really increases speed and performance. Does anybody else have RAID set up on their pc? If so, was it hard to intall? BTW, my budget is $1600.

I've just been browsing around and have come up with this so far, case, motherboard, and CPU. Here's the links:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=494296&Sku=C455-6072%20CAW&CatId=712

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=637331&sku=MBM-K8NPRO-3200

Any suggestions about hard drive, vid cards, sound cards, monitors? Anything I'm leaving out?

Am I going in the right direction? Any input would be appreciated.

[SS]Steve-O
10-09-2003, 08:33 AM
Get a GREAT motherboard. This is important becuase eveything pretty much runs off that, plus if you want, you can easily upgrade to better processors later. Then build around that. Asus is a great company for motherboards, I think. Jammer what kind of things will you be doing with your comp? Games? Graphic Design? Surf the web? Digital Video editing?
I think $1600 is more then enough to get you a sweet comp thou.

[SS]Snakebite
10-09-2003, 10:49 AM
$1600 ??..... Go buy a Sony VAIO laptop, mine rocks!! Problem solved. :D

[SS]Rator
10-09-2003, 12:48 PM
yeah it rocks if you dont hook it up to your router! LOL! jk.